Bananas: Cubed

A few weeks ago, after posting my own go-to Banana Bread recipe, my good buddy and long-time friend Janelle sent me her recipe for Browned Butter Banana Bread. She claimed it was the best. I, of course, was skeptical. But, since I am moving out of my delightful NZ cottage in a week (it’s very sad), and I still had a door-full of black bananas in my freezer that needed to be used, I decided to give Janelle’s “B-Cubed” recipe a try. And, in the words of my dear childhood friend, Captain Haddock (Tintin’s mate, for all of you deprived folks):

Billions of Blue Blistering Barnacles!

This banana bread is seriously brilliant. So, Janelle, you weren’t lying after all. It really is fantastic. What makes this banana bread unique is you actually brown the butter before adding it to the batter so it lends a rich caramely taste to the bread (I need to stop calling it bread – it’s really more like an awesome cupcake). I think the original recipe has just slightly too much butter so I’ve changed it slightly. It’s definitely more indulgent than my own faithful banana bread recipe, and more of a dessert than a breakfast, I think, so I won’t be chucking my recipe in favour of this one (although the thought did cross my mind) but rather letting the two recipes have their own spots in my recipe book.

Image

Bananas: Cubed

  • 3.5 oz browned and cooled in fridge until semi-soft
  • 1 cups brown sugar
  • 3 mashed ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups of flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips/chunks

Beat softened browned butter with sugar. Add bananas & eggs. Mix together dry ingredients and add, stirring in just until moistened. Pour into loaf pan or muffin tins. Bake at 350 for about 60-70 mins if loaf or about 20min if muffins.

Image

Image

Leave a comment